Frequently Asked Questions
How can I schedule an appointment?
You can do so by filling in your details using the online contact form on the "Contact Us" page and we will contact you personally. Alternatively, you can call our centres directly to make an appointment.
How long does it take to do a colonoscopy?
The inspection time varies depending on the patient's situation, but generally it takes about 30-45 minutes. The hold time is around 1.5-2 hours for colonoscopy.
After a colonoscopy or gastroscopy, how long will I have to wait for the result?
The results can be known on the same day (if there are polyps or tissue resection tests, there is usually a report after one to two weeks).
Under what situation will gastroscopy be recommended?
If you are suffering from upper abdominal pain, acid reflux, heartburn, upper abdominal bloating, difficulty in swallowing or foreign body (such as fishbone ingestion), gastroscopy will be recommended.
What are the possible Risks and complications of a gastroscopy?
A gastroscopy is a minimally invasive procedure. It is a safe procedure, but like all medical procedures it does carry a risk of complications. Possible complications that can occur include:
  • Respiratory complication: e.g. Aspiration pneumonia
  • Haemorrhage (less than 1:3000), perforation (1 in 10,000) and death (1:50,000). If therapeutic procedures are required (e.g. polypectomy, endoscopic hemostasis etc), the risks are in general slightly higher
  • Soreness of throat
  • Bloating due to air in the stomach
How Do I Prepare for a colonoscopy?
You will be instructed to follow the food intake guideline: stop ingesting high fiber diet/drink within 3 days before the procedure. Laxative for the cleaning of large intestine will be given to patients the night before the procedure.
What is colorectal cancer?

Colorectal cancer often begins as a growth called a polyp inside the colon or rectum. Early detection is important because finding and removing polyps can prevent colorectal cancer. Signs and symptoms of colon cancer include: A change in your bowel habits, including diarrhea or constipation or a change in the consistency of your stool, that lasts longer than four weeks. Rectal bleeding or blood in your stool.Persistent abdominal discomfort, such as cramps, gas or pain.

Cancer of the colon is a highly treatable and often curable disease when localized to the bowel. Surgery is the primary form of treatment and results in cure in approximately 50% of the patients.

What is stomach cancer?
Stomach cancer occurs when malignant tumours are present in the tissues of the stomach. It is slow-developing and may grow for many years before symptoms appear. Stomach cancer can spread through the stomach wall to nearby organs, such as the liver, pancreas or large bowel. It can travel via the lymphatic system to the lymph nodes or via the bloodstream to other parts of the body, such as the lungs.

 

It was the fourth leading cause of cancer-related deaths in Hong Kong and accounted for 5% of all cancer deaths in 2016. It is also more common among men. Risk factors include aging, H. pylori infection, smoking, alcohol use, consuming foods preserved by salting, processed meat, and obesity.

What is oesophageal cancer?

Oesophageal cancer develops when abnormal cells in the food pipe (oesophagus) grow in an uncontrolled manner. Food is carried from your mouth to your stomach via the oesophagus. Oesophageal cancer is often found where the oesophagus meets the stomach. People above the age of 60 are most susceptible to this form of cancer.

Oesophageal cancer is quite common in Hong Kong, accounting for 1.4% of all new cancer cases in 2015, according to the Department of Health. It is also more common among men than women, with the ratio being approximately 3.6 to 1.

Risk factors include aging, smoking, and drinking. The usual symptom is difficulty in swallowing. However, it may escalate to difficulty in swallowing solid food to vomiting, back and chest discomfort, malnutrition, and significant weight loss.

Make Appointment
Central +852 2130 3201
Kwai Fong +852 2130 3203

Room 1511, 15/F, New World Tower I, 18 Queen’s Road Central (Central MTR Exit G)

+852 2130 3201

Unit 1905 & 1906, 19/F, MetroplazaTower II, 223 Hing Fong Road, Kwai Fong

+852 2130 3203

常見問題
我可以如何預約檢查?
您可於網上進行預約,於「聯絡我們」頁面填寫個人資料,我們會直接聯絡您。此外,您可致電本中心預約。
大腸鏡檢查需時多久?
檢查時間會因應病人情況而有所不同,一般需時約30 - 45分鐘。你需為大腸鏡檢查預留約1.5至2小時,而胃鏡則需要約1至1.5小時。
大腸鏡或胃鏡檢查完畢,要等多久才有檢查報告?
即日可以知道檢查結果 (如切除瘜肉或抽取活組織化驗,則需時約一至兩星期)。
甚麼情況下我需要進行胃鏡檢查?
如果您感到上腹疼痛、胃酸倒流、火燒心、上腹滯脹、感受難以吞嚥或覺得異物阻隔(如魚骨梗喉)等情況,我們建議你進行胃鏡檢查。
胃鏡檢查有甚麼風險?
胃鏡檢查是一項非常安全的檢查程序,不過,一如所有醫療過程都有可能出現併發症的風險,包括:
  • 呼吸系統併發症,例如吸入性肺炎;
  • 內出血(少於1:3000)、刺穿(1:10,000)、死亡(1:50,000)。如發現瘜肉或進行內視鏡止血等程序,一般風險亦相對提升;
  • 喉嚨疼痛;
  • 因胃部有空氣進入而引起脹氣。
照大腸鏡檢查之前,要有甚麼準備?
檢查前您須先將腸道完全清潔,有助順利完成檢查。您需要禁食高纖食物3天,檢查前一天避免進食固體食物。下一步是排清大便,醫生會處方瀉藥或進行灌腸。
甚麼是大腸癌?

大腸癌通常由大腸或直腸的瘜肉異常增生引起,因此及早發現及切除瘜肉對預防大腸癌非常重要。大腸癌的常見症狀包括:排便習慣改變,包括膓瀉、便秘或大便異常,並持續超過四星期,另外,直腸出血或大便出血、持續感到腹部不適,例如疼痛、排氣或絞痛。

大腸癌是相對較容易治療的癌症,特別是位於直腸的癌細胞。手術是第一步的治療,存活率可高達50%。

甚麼是胃癌?

胃癌是由胃部組織的惡性腫瘤所引發,其生長速度緩慢,可長達數年症狀才逐漸出現。胃癌會擴散至附近器官,包括肝臟、胰臟和大腸,亦可通過淋巴系統擴散至淋巴結或透過血管擴散到肺部等器官。

胃癌是目前香港第4大常見癌症,截至2016年,胃癌死亡個案佔本地全部癌症死亡個案的5%;其中男性患者較多,其高危原因包括感染幽門螺旋菌、吸煙、飲酒、進食高鹽和精製食物與及肥胖人士。

甚麼是食道癌?

食道癌是由位於食道的不正常細胞病變引致。食道是食物由口腔通往胃部的通道,食道癌常見於食道與胃部連接的位置。患食道癌的高危會隨年齡而增長,特別是60歲以上人士。

根據衛生署資料顯示,食道癌是香港常見的癌症,2015年佔癌症新症人數的1.4%。男女患者的比例約為3.6:1,顯示食道癌於男性患者中較為普遍。

患食道癌的風險包括年齡、吸煙及飲酒。吞嚥困難是常見的症狀之一,並會由吞嚥固食物有困難而進一步發展至嘔吐、胸骨後胸部中央部位不適、營養不良及體重顯著下降

預約檢查

香港中環皇后大道中18號新世界大廈15樓1511室

+852 2130 3201

香港葵芳興芳路223號新都會廣場二座1905及1906室

+852 2130 3203